2011 Primary Source Awardees Announced

Wednesday, April 27, 2011
Don Dyer - ddyer@crl.edu

The results of the 2011 Primary Source Awards were announced at CRL’s 62nd Annual Council Meeting on Thursday, April 21. The awardees are:


Laura Braden, Ph.D candidate in the Department of Sociology, Emory University, was nominated by Robert O’Reilly, Coordinator, Numeric Data Services, Emory University. Ms. Braden received the Primary Source Award for Research for her project that focused on the attributes of the 308 artists who exhibited at the 1913 Armory Show and the subsequent treatment of each in twentieth-century art history textbooks. Braden used Armory Show exhibition catalogs, catalogs from organizations such as the Museum of Modern Art, and other primary source materials.


Professor Laurie Zittrain Eisenberg, of the Carnegie Mellon University History Department (self-nominated) received the Primary Source Award for Teaching for her “Historical Evidence and Interpretation” undergraduate course that focuses on the 1967 Arab-Israeli War. She worked with Mary Wilke, CRL’s Member Liaison, to design the course around CRL middle-eastern newspaper collections, radio broadcast transcripts, and other primary source materials.


Kelley Wolfe Bachli, Coordinator of the Center for Primary Research and Training (CPRT) at the University of California - Los Angeles, was nominated by Genie Guerard, Head, Manuscripts Division, UCLA. Ms. Bachli received the Primary Source Award for Access for the innovative program and research enhancements she introduced at the Center for Primary Research and Training, including increasing the number of students enrolled in the program, expanding the scope of primary source research projects, and establishing end-of-year presentation opportunities for CPRT students.

More information about the awardees and their projects will be available in the upcoming Spring 2011 issue of CRL’s newsletter FOCUS on Global Resources.

Awardees receive a gift certificate from Powell’s Books; their nominators receive an iPod Touch.

CRL established the Primary Source Awards to recognize librarians, teachers, and researchers who use, or promote the use of, primary source materials in specific research projects and research methodologies; employ primary source materials in the classroom, curriculum planning, teaching methods, and student guidance; facilitate access to primary source materials; and support research and the creation of new knowledge or innovative research methods and techniques. Nominations were evaluated by CRL’s Collections and Service Policy Committee, chaired by Richard Fyffe, Rosenthal Librarian of the College, Grinnell College.

Nominations for the 2012 Primary Source Awards will be accepted beginning in September 2011, with a deadline of January 31, 2012. For more information, visit www.crl.edu/primary-source-awards or contact Don Dyer, CRL Membership and Communications Coordinator, at ddyer@crl.edu.