2013 CRL Primary Source Awards

Spring 2013 | Volume 32, Number 3 | Download PDF

2013 CRL Primary Source Awards

In This Issue

Comments from CRL President Bernard Reilly

CRL Primary Source Awards for 2013

A brief overview of the program.

2013 Award for Access

Jennifer Wolfe, Digital Scholarship Librarian, University of Iowa
Nominated by: Paul Soderdahl, University Librarian for Information Technology, University of Iowa

For her efforts in the development of University of Iowa’s crowd-sourcing DIY History initiative, which features five collections, beginning with “Civil War Diaries and Letters.”

2013 Award for Research

Thea Lindquist, History Librarian, University of Colorado at Boulder (CU)
Nominated by: Jennifer Knievel, Director, Arts and Humanities, University Libraries, University of Colorado at Boulder

For her WWI Linked Data project, which applies linked data methods to enhance use of CU’s digitized World War I Collection (WWI) of more than 1,200 pamphlets, books, maps, and speeches spanning the years between 1914 and 1920.

2013 Award for Teaching

Edward Udovic,Vice President of Teaching & Learning and Senior Executive for University Mission, DePaul University
Nominated by: Scott Walter, University Librarian, DePaul University

For his “The Lincoln Park Neighborhood: Then and Now” course, which incorporated the discovery and use of primary source materials held at DePaul University and the Chicago History Museum into a number of course assignments, including critical, reflective learning journals.

The Archivo Histórico de la Policía Nacional, discovered in 2005, has to date digitized about 12 million of the 80 million documents from the Archive. CRL used this image for its 2013 Primary Source Awards flyer. Courtesy of Archivo Histórico de la Policía Nacional, Guatemala.