CRL Primary Source Awards for 2013

The Archivo Histórico de la Policía Nacional, discovered in 2005, has to date digitized about 12 million of the 80 million documents from the Archive. CRL used this image for its 2013 Primary Source Awards flyer. Courtesy of Archivo Histórico de la Policía Nacional, Guatemala.

The Center for Research Libraries first created the Primary Source Awards in 2009 to recognize innovative uses of primary source materials by faculty, librarians and library staff, students, and other researchers in the CRL community. Nominations are accepted in three arenas: access, research, and teaching. This year the CRL Collections and Services Policy Committee, chaired by Dan Hazen, Harvard University, selected the following awardees for recognition

2013 Primary Source Awards

Award for Access

Jennifer Wolfe, Digital Scholarship Librarian, University of Iowa
Nominated by: Paul Soderdahl, University Librarian for Information Technology,
University of Iowa

Award for Research

Thea Lindquist, History Librarian, University of Colorado at Boulder
Nominated by: Jennifer Knievel, Director, Arts and Humanities, University Libraries,
University of Colorado at Boulder

Award for Teaching

Edward Udovic, Vice President of Teaching & Learning and Senior Executive for University Mission, DePaul University
Nominated by: Scott Walter, University Librarian,
DePaul University

2014 Primary Source Awards

Nominations for the 2014 awards will be accepted beginning June 1, 2013. Faculty and staff at CRL libraries are encouraged to consider other staff, faculty, or colleagues as candidates for these awards; self nominations are welcome. Awardees receive a gift certificate from Powell’s Books; an iPad is given to the persons who nominate the awardees. Please see the Awards Criteria and How to Nominate sections on the CRL website for information on participants and the selection process.