Primary Source Awards Introduction

The Center for Research Libraries developed the Primary Source Awards to recognize faculty, librarians and library staff, graduate students, and other researchers within the CRL community for innovative uses of primary source materials in three arenas: research, teaching, and access. The inaugural annual juried competition began accepting nominations in fall 2009 and received many eligible nominations from universities and colleges in nine states and two Canadian provinces. For more information on the program, visit the CRL Web site. Nominations for the 2011 competition will be accepted after May 31, 2010.

This year the CRL Collections and Services Policy Committee selected the following projects to be recognized by these awards:

2010 Primary Source Award for Access
Dr. Elisabeth McMahon—Assistant Professor of History, Tulane University

2010 Primary Source Award for Research
Dr. G. R. Boynton—Professor of Political Science, University of Iowa

2010 Primary Source Award for Teaching
Dr. Anne Urbancic—Senior Lecturer, Italian Studies at the University of Toronto, Victoria College