CRL Primary Source Awards

Poster for 2016 awards. Graphic courtesy of Northeastern University, from the Guantánamo Public Memory Project.

The Center for Research Libraries first created the CRL Primary Source Awards in 2009 to recognize innovative uses of primary source materials by faculty, librarians and library staff, students, and other researchers in the CRL community. Nominations are accepted in three areas: access, research, and teaching. This year the CRL Collections and Services Policy Committee selected the following for recognition.

2016 Primary Source Awards

2016 Award for Access

“Explore Chicago Collections”
Tracy J. Seneca, Digital Services Librarian and Clinical Associate Professor, University of Illinois at Chicago
Nominated by: Scott Walter, University Librarian,
DePaul University

2016 Award for Research

“Using Primary Sources: Hands-On Instructional Exercises”
Anne Bahde, Rare Books and History of Science Librarian, Special Collections and Archives Research Center, Oregon State University
Nominated by: Annelise Sklar, Social Sciences Collection Coordinator,
University of California, San Diego

2016 Award for Teaching

“Memory Bandits: Preserving and Interpreting Knowledges of the Past”
Patrick Stawski, Duke University Archivist for Human Rights, David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library, Duke University
Nominated by: Kristina Troost, Department of International & Area Studies, 
Duke University Libraries

2017 CRL Primary Source Awards

Nominations for the 2017 awards are now open; the CRL website has details. Faculty and staff at CRL libraries are encouraged to consider other staff, faculty, or colleagues as candidates for these awards; self nominations are welcome.