Primary Source Award Deadline Jan. 31

Monday, January 10, 2011
Don Dyer -

The Primary Source Awards are an annual juried competition designed to recognize and publicize librarians, teachers, and researchers who:

  • Use or promote use of primary source materials in specific research projects and research methodologies
  • Employ primary source materials in the classroom, curricular planning, teaching methods, or student advisory role
  • Facilitate access to primary source materials
  • Support research and the creation of new knowledge or innovative research methods and techniques

The Primary Source Awards are presented annually in three categories: Access, Research, and Teaching. Both the awardees and the nominators of the awardees receive prizes. Visit to learn more, see last year's winners, or nominate yourself or a colleague!

The nomination deadline is Monday, January 31. For more information, contact Don Dyer, CRL Membership and Communications Coordinator, at

The Impact of CRL

Stories illustrating CRL’s impact on research, teaching, collection building and preservation.

Helping Libraries Deal with ‘Big’ Data

At CRL’s 2018 Global Collections Forum, Julie Sweetkind-Singer, Head of Branner Earth Sciences Library and Map Collections at Stanford University Libraries, discussed how satellite imagery and large geospatial datasets are being used as source materials for scholars in a variety of disciplines, and the new types of library support they require.

Unique Arab Diaspora Materials Saved for Future Scholars

In FY 2018 the Middle East Materials Project (MEMP) microfilmed Arab-language publications from several diaspora communities in non-Arab countries, including the UK, Japan, the U.S., and Poland. These resources continue to affirm MEMP’s role as a provider of rare and distinctive documentation for scholars.