CRL Primary Source Awards

Detail from a photograph from the 2011 CRL Primary Source Award for Access.

The Center for Research Libraries first developed the Primary Source Awards in 2009 to recognize innovative uses of primary source materials by faculty, librarians and library staff, graduate students, and other researchers in the CRL community. Nominations are accepted in three arenas: access, research, and teaching. This year the CRL Collections and Services Policy Committee, chaired by Richard Fyffe, Rosenthal Librarian of the College, Grinnell College, selected the following awardees for recognition:

2012 Primary Source Awards

Award for Access

Dan Reboussin, Head, African Studies Collections, University of Florida
Nominated by: Laurie Taylor, Digital Humanities Librarian, University of Florida

Award for Research

Amy Brady, Graduate Student, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Award for Teaching

Dr. Sayre Greenfield, Professor of English, University of Pittsburgh (Greensburg campus)
Nominated by: Amanda Folk, Reference/Public Services Librarian, University of Pittsburgh

2013 Primary Source Awards

Nominations for the 2013 awards will be accepted beginning June 1, 2012. Faculty and staff at CRL libraries are encouraged to consider other staff, faculty, or colleagues as candidates for these awards; self nominations are welcome. Awardees receive a gift certificate from Powell’s Books; an iPad is given to the persons who nominate the awardees. Please see the Eligibility and Selection sections on the CRL website for information on participants and the selection process.