CRL Primary Source Awards

Graphic courtesy of David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library, Duke University.

The Center for Research Libraries first created the CRL Primary Source Awards in 2009 to recognize innovative uses of primary source materials by faculty, librarians and library staff, students, and other researchers in the CRL community. Nominations are accepted in three areas: access, research, and teaching. This year the CRL Collections and Services Policy Committee selected the following for recognition. 

2017 Award for Access 

"Umbra Search African American History"

Cecily Marcus, Principal Investigator, Umbra Search African American History; Curator, Givens Collection of African American Literature, Performing Arts Archives, and Upper Midwest Literary Archives, University of Minnesota 

Nominated by: Wendy Pradt Lougee, University Librarian and McKnight Presidential Professor, University of Minnesota 

2017 Award for Research

"What Must Be Remembered: An Exhibition Inspired by Natasha Trethewey’s Native Guard"

Pellom McDaniels III, Curator of African American Collections, Special Collections and Archives Research Center, Emory University 

2017 Award for Teaching 

"Fighting the Atlantic Slave Trade" 

Daniel B. Domingues da Silva, Assistant Professor, Department of History, University of Missouri 

Nominated by: Rachel Brekhus, Humanities Librarian, University of Missouri  

2018 CRL Primary Source Awards 

Nominations for the 2018 awards are now open; the CRL website has details. Faculty and staff at CRL libraries are encouraged to consider other staff, faculty, or colleagues as candidates for these awards; self nominations are welcome.