Bibliothèque Bleue

CIFNAL et ARTFL (Université de Chicago) collaborent avec la Médiathèque de l’agglomération troyenne (MAT) pour d’ajouter des fonctionnalités de recherche et d’analyse textuelle à la collection de Bibliothèque bleue de la MAT. L’objectif est de constituer une bibliothèque numérique de ces livrets imprimés en France du 17ème  siècle au début du 19ème siècle. ARTFL a fourni le financement initial de ce projet.

La Bibliothèque bleue est composée d’ouvrages de littérature populaire (fiction, histoires populaires, guides pratiques) imprimés en France sur un papier bleu à bon marché et vendus dans la rue par des colporteurs. La MAT (Bibliothèque municipale de Troyes) détient l’une des plus importantes collections d’ouvrages de ce type, avec plus de 2500 ouvrages, dont près de 700 furent imprimés à Troyes.

La MAT a commencé à numériser ces ouvrages et a déjà fourni près de 300 textes qui seront balisés par CIFNAL/ARTFL. A ce jour, ARTFL a réalisé la double saisie et le balisage de 116 titres selon la norme TEI-light. Ces titres ont été intégrés à la base de données PhiloLogic d’ARTFL. Les textes sont accessibles ici pour les membres:
http://www.lib.uchicago.edu/efts/ARTFL/projects/BibBl/

Coordination:  Sarah Sussman (Stanford), Mark Olsen et Robert Morrissey (ARTFL), Thierry Delcourt (MAT).

Center for Research Libraries - Global Resources Network

Resources for

Languages

  • English

Access this resource

CIFNAL and ARTFL (University of Chicago) are collaborating with the Médiathèque de l’agglomération troyenne (MAT) to add text-searching and analysis capabilities to its collection of the Bibliothèque Bleue. The project aims to create a searchable digital library of chapbooks from France printed in the 17th to the early 19th centuries. ARTFL has generously provided the initial funding for this project.

Bibliothèque Bleue is characterized as works of popular literature—fiction, popularized histories, advice manuals—printed in France on inexpensive blue paper and sold by itinerant vendors on the streets. MAT (the municipal library of Troyes) has one of the most important collections of works of this genre. Its collection contains more than 2,500 works, almost 700 of which were printed in Troyes.

MAT has begun to digitize these works, and has contributed nearly 300 texts for marking up by CIFNAL/ARTFL. To date, ARTFL has created double-keyed and tagged texts of 116 titles, using TEI-light encoding and incorporating into ARTFL’s PhiloLogic database. The texts are available at: www.lib.uchicago.edu/efts/ARTFL/projects/BibBl/

Coordinators: Sarah Sussman (Stanford), Mark Olsen and Robert Morrissey (ARTFL), Monsieur Thierry Delcourt (MAT).

For more information about the Médiathèque de l’agglomération troyenne and its collections and projects, please visit www.mediatheque-agglo-troyes.fr

Follow CRL

Stay informed by subscribing
to our e-mail list and social
media outlets.